** Determination – P10

“Finish your studies so that you will find a good job.”

There was once a little girl who took this quote by heart from her mother.  When she was in her primary school years, she was the shortest in her class and so petite.  She carries her big bag to school and she’s always the first in queue due to her height.   Every lunchtime, she eats with her siblings while her classmates were being taken cared of by parents who brought lunch for their children and fixed their children’s messed up bun.  This was a good sight for her to see but she totally understands this because her parents were working hard for her and her 5 siblings.  When she was in her secondary school years, she looked for scholarship programs that would help finance her studies, because she always believe that being the 5th child in the family is not a priority.  Thankfully she was able to find a scholarship that gives not much but at least could help her in any way. 

On her way to university, she was so worried if she could continue her schooling because 3 of her siblings were also in college.  With the help of her teacher and classmates in submitting some documents, she once again took up any scholarship there is thinking more of luck rather than brains.   She went from one university to the other, one scholarship to another.  Submit there and here, took examinations here and there.  She failed so much scholarship that she almost thought of giving up.  One day while in school, her teacher approached her and told her “Hey you passed the scholarship”.  She jumped for joy along with other classmates who passed the same scholarship. 

The scholarship greatly helped pay her tuition fee as well as provide her school allowance and school expenses.  Years of hard work and she finally graduated with a happy and contented heart. 

Ladies and gentleman the little girl in the story is right in front of you.  Everything is achievable and possible if only we are determine on it and put our heart to it.

Life is not a bed of roses.  Having said that, if we experienced hindrances, we should not just STOP from where we are, coz it does not take a very smart brain to spell out determination.   Let me give you my own formula of determination:

D-rive. We all have drive in every situation, look for it and find the reason and purpose for every action.  My drive was I want to finish my studies.

E-xamine.  Examine every good options you have, be it possible or impossible, luck or fortune.  Because of my drive, I am hopeful and driven to take any opportunities there is so that I can achieve my goal, thus I took up any scholarship even if I know that I will fail.

T-rust.  Trust your instinct and always follow your guts.  If every option fails, then just follow your guts or where your heart will lead you.  Because of what I believe that I will not be able to finish my schooling, I follow my guts to find my own ways and means.

E-xperience.  Always be thankful of the experience you have because these are lessons that you will bring wherever you are.  Know that your experience is indeed your greatest teacher.  Whether you succeed or not, we’ll at least you try.

R-ejoice.  Rejoice and be thankful of the opportunities that comes your way be it difficult or not.  I was happy that I experienced difficult times because without those, I cannot appreciate the happy memories or experiences I have.

M-otivate.  Try to motivate yourself by always thinking of what your drive and goal is.

I-nspire.  Inspire and push yourself to be a better version of yourself.

N-urture.  Nurture the seed of hope in your life and try to nourish it with the inspiration you’ve planted.   And in all these.

E-xpect less.  Even if you done so much expect less, because with less comes great achievement and gratitude.

Before I end my speech, let me share with you this very common quote and if you are stuck somewhere, remember that:

“Determination is the key to success.”

Leave a comment